Aberdeen Branch

Welcome to the Aberdeen Branch

The fundamentals of the Institute of Corrosion is for the local Engineering Fraternity to gather, discuss the pro’s and con’s of the latest technology and network. The branches are therefore located in strategic cities and grouped into six regions. Each Branch is made up with volunteers who work together to engage and provide support to the local engineering communities.

We also work with other Engineering Institutions to provide interesting and diverse topics for discussion at a local level, to include; IMechE, IOM3, Institute of Welding, Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Branch Meetings


Venue: 2018/2019 Events venue is in different venues, please link to each event for detail.

  • Aberdeen Branch meetings are held the last Tuesday in the month from September to May.
  • Aberdeen Branch meetings start 18:00
  • The Technical Presentation starts at 18.30.
  • There is complementary buffet and drinks are from 18;00 onwards.
  • The meeting generally closes around 20:00.


Room N242,
Sir Ian Wood Building,
Robert Gordon University,
Garthdee Road
AB10 7GJ.



Latest News & Newsletters

Aberdeen Branch

The branch was very fortunate to have some excellent speakers for its winter meetings at Robert Gordon University (RGU) which attracted good audiences. Dr Ed Whyte, principal corrosion engineer, and Paul McCarthy, of Plant Integrity Management (PIM) commenced the Q1...

read more

Aberdeen Branch News

The branch was very pleased to welcome retiring ICorr President Sarah Vasey on her farewell tour, to the committee Christmas dinner, which was held at the beginning of December. Sarah has taken a great interest in the work of the branch, as with other UK Branches that...

read more

Aberdeen Branch News

The branch has now moved its activities to the Sir Ian Wood Building, Robert Gordon University (RGU), which provides ‘State of the Art’ Teaching / AV Facilities, and kicked off its new session with some thoughtful insights into the complex issue of Preferential Weld...

read more

Aberdeen Branch News

The third branch event of 2018 took place on Tuesday the 27th March, with 32 attendees representing major companies including, Aberdeen Foundries, ABR Engineering, Atkins, Axiom NDT, CAN Offshore Ltd, DNV GL, ICR Integrity Ltd, Lloyds Register, Lux Assure Ltd, Maersk...

read more

Subsea Inspection – The Future by George Gair of Subsea 7 and Integrity Management of Brownfield Projects: Challenges and Rewards by Monzar Najami – Principal Inspection Engineer of Oceaneering International

George Gair of Subsea 7, commenced the evening session with a thought provoking theme ‘Subsea Inspection – The Future’ that considered many aspects of the current cost reduction environment, where there is a major focus now on how to reduce costs by incorporating new...

read more

Local Technical Programme

Aberdeen Branch Sponsors
Without the continued support from our branch sponsors it would not be possible for us to provide our technical programme to you.

ICorr Aberdeen would appreciate the following Branch Sponsors in the 2018/2019 Session:

  • Cosasco
  • Deepwater EU Ltd
  • IMG Composites Ltd
  • Independent Corrosion Services Ltd
  • Lloyd’s Register EMEA
  • Macaw Engineering Ltd
  • Oceaneering International Services Limited
  • Permasense Ltd
  • Total E & P UK Ltd
  • Aberdeen Foundries
  • Atkins
  • TRAC

ICORR GOLD SPONSORS – Corrpro Companies Europe Ltd, Pipeline Technique, Pittsburgh Coming

ICORR SUSTAINING SPONSORS –  CAN Offshore, Denholm Industrial Service Ltd, Element Material Technology, ICR, Lake Chemical&Minerals Ltd, Lux Azzure Ltd, Oceaneering International Services, Plant Integrity Management, PMAC System, Presserv Ltd, R&R Corrosion Ltd, Sonomatic Limited, Spencer Coating

For more information about becoming a local branch sponsor please contact our Sponsorship/ Marketing committee member, Kevin Paterson kpaterson@stoprust.co.uk.

Aberdeen Committee Members

Dr. Yunnan Gao
Tel: 01224 – 263415

Vice Chair
Stephen Tate

Secretary for External Affairs
Stephen Tate


Secretary for internal Affairs
Dr. Nigel Owen

Financial Officer
Alistair Seton

Event Co-ordinator
Amir Attarchi

University Liaison & CPD Officer 
Zahra Lofti

Committee Member

Hooman Takhtechian

Dr. Philip Enegela

Bryn Roberts

Aberdeen Branch Email address