New Members during 2019

New Members

Welcome to our 216 new members and 15 Sustaining Company members who joined the Institute in 2019.

TOGETHER WITH THE CONGRATULATIONS of the Institute to all the following members who have attained Professional Status in 2019.


• Toni Gordon
• Robin Isaac Wilson • Shaun Scholes • Craig McCann • Matthew J Grindrod • David Bellfield


• Mahmoud Hasan Daghestani
• Keith M Wagner
• Ricardo Ocampo Ramos
• Yousef Abdulrahman Obeid
• David Wright
• Bilal Ahsan
• Mahesh Panchal
• Man Mohan Waghey
• Syed Umair Niaz Bukhari
• Tarek Hamada Farghaly
• Barathkumar Krishnan
• Mohamed Saad Eldieb
• Emmanuel Alenkhe
• Ahmed Shafik Badawy
• Luigi Petrone
• Alaa Attia Abdel Razek
• Aqeel Ul Qadar Ahmed 
• Mohamed Mohamed Mukhtar
• Nigel Ratcliffe
• Jaison Wilson Lobo
• Thamizhanban Dhanapal
• Hugh P O’Neill
• Fahad Muhammad
• Ahmed Magdy Wahba Mahgoub
• Naveed Hassan
• Muhammad Umer
• Jonathan Wilmshurst-Smith
• Prakash Shanmugam
• Nigel John Owen
• Irving B Annan
• Agnieszka Knyter
• Mohammad Faraz Muslim
• Zuojia Liu
• Gregory Brown
• John Stephen Rae
• Ahmed Amin Abdel-
Rahman Ali
• Mahalingam Ganesan
• Santhosh Nagarajan
• Richard Barker
• Kevin Harold
• Tamer Ibrahim Ahmed Mohamed
• Danny Burkle
• Sherif Abdel Hamid Helmy
• Syed Sajid Ali Qadri
• Mohamed Fawzy Mohamed Omar
• Mustafa Hashim


• Nigel David Strike
• Kuppili Prabhakhara Rao • Mohammed A Al-Anezi
• Marcello Angelo Biagioli
• Emmanuel Marcus
• Basanta Kumar Lenka
• Aftab Fakhruddin Khan
• Yunnan Gao
• Joseph Itodo Emmanuel
• David Horrocks
• Richard Green
• Sarah Vasey


• David W Harvey

2 April Technical Talk

Do you believe in RBI for CUI?

Dr Clare Watt (KAEFER Isoliertechnik) gives an informal presentation of her technical Eurocorr 2019 paper, “Using industry data to compare performance of different risk-based methods for the management of corrosion under insulation”

In conjunction to a Q&A session”

The President Writes …

The President Writes …

The President Writes

Shortly before Christmas, it was with great shock and sadness that I learned of the passing of Bill Cox, a former ICorr President and a highly valued and respected member of Council, at the age of just 69. Bill was a true stalwart of the Institute and it was fitting to see such strong ICorr representation at his funeral, where Stuart Lyon, Brian Wyatt and Wil Deacon spoke very movingly about their memories of Bill. On a personal note, I will greatly miss Bill’s friendship and support; he was the most honest and dependable person you could ever wish to meet and his passing is a huge blow to us all.

By now you will have seen the results of our Institute rebranding initiative, which has been applied to our website, magazine, documentation, stationery and marketing material. I would like to thank everyone who took the time to provide feedback via the online survey during the summer. Your comments were taken very seriously and I hope you will agree that MD Design Studio and Square One Advertising
& Design have done a fantastic job. The outcome will be to enhance how the outside world views the Institute and to emphasise our role as a vibrant professional society promoting excellence in corrosion science
and engineering.

It was a pleasure to attend the annual London Branch Christmas Luncheon at the Royal Overseas League on 5th December. The guest speaker was former cricket commentator Henry Blofeld (or ‘Blowers’), who kept us very entertained with anecdotes from his long career covering Test cricket all over the world. Alcohol and cake seemed to feature very strongly! As usual, the Luncheon was very well attended and can only be described as a resounding success; congratulations to the London Branch organising committee for another outstanding event.

I’m delighted to say that we have signed an agreement with the Society of Operations Engineers allowing them to take over the Registration of our CEng, IEng and EngTech members with the Engineering Council. Huge thanks are due to David Harvey and Bill Hedges for their efforts in securing this seamless transition from the now defunct Society of Environmental Engineers. If you had been holding off submitting an application while this was being sorted, now is the time!

On a related note, if you hold CEng registration through ICorr (or any other professional body) and would be willing to act as an applicant assessor or professional review interviewer for new applicants, we would love to hear from you! For more information on what this entails please contact David Harvey (

It has also been a time of change for our Cathodic Protection training courses, which have been completely revamped to align with the requirements of the ISO 15257 standard. This is entirely due to the sterling efforts of the Cathodic Protection Governing Board (CPGB), and in particular its Chair, Jim Preston, and CP Training Scheme Manager, Brian Wyatt. Jim and Brian have recently stepped down from these roles and I would like to thank them sincerely on behalf of the Institute for the huge amount of effort they have put in over the past few years. Their legacy is that we now have a world-class training offering that will raise standards in the industry, while safeguarding the financial stability of the Institute.

Finally, I would like to extend a warm welcome to new CPGB Chair, Chris Spence, new CP Training Scheme Manager, Robin Bailey, and new Surface Treatment Governing Board Chair, Keith Wagner. It’s great to see that our conveyor belt of talent and dedication is still functioning in these busy times. Your efforts are truly appreciated!

CED Working Day and Symposium on ‘Corrosion Control in Transport and Infrastructure’

Wednesday 29 April- The National Railway Museum

Institute of Corrosion’s Corrosion Engineering Division


‘Corrosion Control in Transport and Infrastructure’

This one day meeting will be the latest in a series of recent working days of the Institute of Corrosion’s Corrosion Engineering Division. The meeting will be held at the National Railway Museum, York. This year’s meeting is wide ranging and covers Corrosion Control in Transport and Infrastructure. After the talks, the meeting will break up into the individual CED working groups. In parallel there will be a chance to visit the railway museum. Where possible, agendas for the working group meetings will be published separately in advance on the CED web site ( The 2020 Paul McIntyre Award will be presented after the morning lectures. This working day will be a good opportunity to network with other corrosion professionals from different industry sectors and to learn about some of the latest developments in the field of corrosion control in a variety of transport and infrastructure applications across diverse industries. For information on becoming involved with CED working parties please see the CED web site or contact the Chair of CED, Nick Smart ( For registration to attend the meeting, please complete and return the registration form.